top of page
  • Writer's pictureShania Kelly,MSW

Creating a Balance Between Spaces



This has felt like the year of “being busy” with so many of us returning to rituals/routines that we may have let go of or could not participate in during the height of the pandemic. We are trying to be more present in our external spaces by exploring new careers, going out and trying new things, spending time with friends, etc. I am also experiencing myself participating in so many external spaces because of the restrictions the pandemic has placed on my ability to do the things that I enjoyed. With that though, it sometimes feels like the time dedicated to my internal space is lacking. Where I may be accepting invitations to things that I don't really want to do. Taking on projects that I really do not feel like dedicating my time to, and etc. It’s not like I do not want to be part of these things but making myself present in those spaces is causing an imbalance between my external and internal spaces.


So how do we find homeostasis?

How do we make sure that we are present in the things we enjoy externally and also maintain the same or similar amount of presence internally?

A podcast that I listened to shed a great light on the answers to these questions by explaining that we have to listen to our intuition when presented with options. If we find ourselves making excuses for doing what feels right at the time then maybe it is not for us at that moment. Maybe the option of participation can take place at another time. Other suggestions involved self-care, meditation, etc. I found “listening to your intuition” to be the strongest answer. I always find myself battling with my inner feelings of “I don’t want to do that right now” “I am overwhelmed and this task might be too much right now” and so many other thoughts. I usually set those thoughts aside so that I can please the other options that I’m presented with. I think that listening to my intuition more while also being mindful of my role responsibilities will bring about an improved homeostasis between my external and internal spaces.


Mentioned Podcast: The Sugar Jar Podcast


- Shania Kelly, MSW

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2022 by Let’s Talk About It with Shania Kelly. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page