top of page
  • Writer's pictureShania Kelly,MSW

Social Media Marketing Is Draining

I give props to all of the social media marketers that have taken on all of the tasks and challenges as their career pathway. I have managed several social media platforms for a non-profit organization in the past and that was.... hard. Managing my three social media platforms for this podcast is even harder. Even with the helpful tools that Canva provides I still feel like coming up with creative posts is very difficult. Without creativity there is little to no chance that viewers will interact with your posts. I find myself constantly looking for opportunities to share my links in conversations and finding the right time to market myself and the podcast. I feel like there is always a moment to gain a new viewer and it can become a lot.


So where do you go from there? Great question.


I've taken the time to do some research on YouTube, on google and even in the several podcasting groups that I am in and have come across a few frequently mentioned strategies. I'd like to share this with you in hopes to help other new podcasters and maybe cut down on your research time.



Time Matters


The days and times that you make your posts matters. Through research and solicited advice, I've learned that there are specific times of the day that people are interacting with their social media accounts the most. Tuesdays through Saturdays have been found to be the most effective days to post. Avoid posting on Sundays! While people may be resting and re-setting for the week to come. They are less likely to really tune into what you are saying or follow through with any calls to action. The best times to post are early in the morning or in the afternoon. Posting at these times allows your media to catch people when they start their day, when they may be going on lunch and maintain a flow throughout the day to be seen and responded to into the night hours.


Your Message is Important


To gain a following you have to find your people. To find your people you first have to understand...

  • Who do you want to reach?

  • What impact do you want to have?

  • What do your listeners like?

Understanding "Your People" is key to creating content that will develop a following of individuals that want to tune into what you have to say (either visually or auditorily). While, my podcast focuses on bringing awareness to social and cultural issues ...I really value mental health awareness as well. So when I post and interact on social media, I bring in both of those components to cultivate a following of people with similar interests. That way, my posts can continue to be a reflection of myself while also providing my audience with the information and interaction opportunities that they are looking for. Authenticity leads to Consistency which leads to Success.


Get Involved


Network. Network. Network. I wish I knew the importance of this when I was younger. Networking is everything and it is never to late! When you start a podcast you really get to know you is part of your network and who is just someone you know. I though that most of my interactions would come from my personal Facebook accounts since all of those people know me in some way. When looking at my analytics, my highest forms of interactions comes from my LinkedIn page and the groups that I am a part of on Facebook. Spaces in social media where people know me the least. The thing about these spaces is that people on the other side of the screen are looking to make connections just as much as I am. So give yourself a change and put yourself in those spaces! Join podcast groups, join groups on topics you care about and interact in those groups. Make posts and interact with others in these groups. These forms of networking is what got my analytics to where they are no with just a trailer as an episode. Creating a Linked Tree and a Hi Hello account is one of the most helpful ways to get your contact information and social media platforms to others. Here are mine for example: Linked Tree Hi Hello


I hope this information is helpful to you in anyway! I found these tips to be the most helpful when creating a foundation for my social media marketing strategies.


Always remember, sharing information with others will never hinder your ability to succeed.


- Shania Kelly, MSW




40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2022 by Let’s Talk About It with Shania Kelly. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page